TheLookoutDiary

WATCH THE THRONE: LONDON O2

In Hip Hop, Media on May 19, 2012 at 3:02 am

Being a person who isn’t religious when it comes to concerts, I am one of those people that is very curious about what he pays to see live. I booked my tickets to see Jay-Z and Kanye West months back and with my mums interrogation happening to this day, on why I spent £140 on two tickets to see two amazing artists, I actually feel satisfied that I kept my mouth shut for so long after my purchase.

Me and my friend Tatiana arranged to go and see this concert a week before tickets were set for release. My mum was happy and so was I, until I told her the price after I bought the ticket hours later. The day came and I had a typical, boring day at college. My attention span was bad, but I didn’t feel hyped about the concert till I actually entered the arena. Standing in line for an hour and a half, well over the time the doors were supposed to open at 18:45, I felt restless, hot, and weak with my buddy. Lucky we were able to purchase beverages (£3 bottle of Sprite, £2 bottle of water, rip off) before we got our standing spots, 8 rows from the front.

Having to wait a long time for two incredible artists is a pain in the backside on the opening night of the most anticipated European tour. You get frustrated when Jay-Z and Kanye say they will start at 20:30 but actually start at 21:00. You become irritated and fragile among the people squeezed next to you. I had the urgent feeling to go toilet but I didn’t want to lose my space, but intelligently Tatiana, went once we got to North Greenwich and when we entered the arena.

When the lights fade in the arena and people start crowding together, and the lights dim, while people are getting hot, you know something is going down. Kanye West and Jay-Z tear the whole place apart. Collaborating on hit singles, and epic albums apart from not only Watch The Thone, the two artists do have something special about them. My favourite song ‘On To The Next One’ by Hova, just makes me go crazy among people who are expecting Niggas In Paris or something from the Watch The Throne album. Then ‘Diamonds From Sierra Leone’ just makes me go cray. Yes CRAY. The set list for the whole night was a masterpiece. It went from old school hits all the way to new school. Everyone knows I stalk both rappers like I am personally married to them so I knew a lot of the lyrics.

The best part of the night at a Hova and Ye Watch The Throne concert is when ‘Niggas In Paris’ takes over the whole arena at the end of the night. The people go ballistic. Everyone is out of control, and when they finish, the whole arena wants a replay, so Hova and Ye have to come back. I lost my voice in the crowd. I felt really wild and crazy since I was literally a metre from them and survived from dehydration and going H.A.M.

Would I recommend going to a Watch The Throne concert. I actually would recommend it every single time. Just watch out for the girl on girl fights in the seating area, the after concert depression and the wet floors while trying to leave the premises. I had the time of my life.  Hip Hop in earphones after the concert doesn’t compare. Mellow King of Hearts by Lloyd on the way back is recommended. Or classical.

  1. Sounds like you had an amazing time! I’m going to WTT in Manchester pretty soon, and I was wondering what time it’s likely to end – is it like 11pm or more like midnight? Also how early did you guys get there to get a good spot for standing? Will we need to get there at like midday? Hope you don’t mind me asking – so glad you had a great night!

    • I will recommend that you get to the concert 2 hours before it is expected to start so you get a close spot. Luckily me and my friend got there just on time, but it purely luck, how we managed to get from 8 rows from the stage to the front in an hour into the show. It should finish at 23:00 but it ends up finishing at 23:30 because people want Niggas In Paris to be played more than once. If you get there midday, don’t eat or drink because you will need to use the toilet but if you need to eat or drink then arrive 2 hours before. Don’t think about using the toilet through out the concert but drink water before the concert starts. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 997 other followers

