TheLookoutDiary

POETRY IS THE THERAPY I MADE LOVE TO

In Poetry, Self Help on November 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm

If you haven’t noticed, I have been writing more poetry posts than anything else on my blog. I usually post something related to a learning experience. A learning experience I would like to share with people with the hope of inspiring positive change, but I have been addicted to writing poetry recently. Poetry has become my guide, my love and my solution to problems I just can’t figure out by thinking in ‘normal’ ways. Normal isn’t even the word to describe it. I just feel poetry gives me a very clear picture and hope.

I feel poetry allows me to become very creative in my expression and make me happy when I feel down. I feel shy talking about embarrassing moments in my life and I feel lost in talking in complexity so my devout lover is my poetry. I can write a poem in 20 mins and then feel a change in my life in a couple hours after release.

I don’t write poetry to make money or to become famous. I don’t care if people like it or not. I care most about me expressing myself to myself, and uplifting myself for good. If I can have a pen, and a piece of paper or my Blackberry, I am forever lost in my lyrics and nothing can interrupt that secret, colourful zone that erupts with words that buzz, tingle, and transform me and others that read my work.

I have a national poetry slam final coming up in London, and I guess I need to prepare for it. And I guess poetry is the therapist I made love to…..

Leave a Reply

